STARRED REVIEW
November 2019

Winterwood

By Shea Ernshaw
Share this Article:

The townspeople of Fir Haven all say the Walker family mysteriously emerged from the forest surrounding the town countless generations ago. Every Walker woman has possessed a unique power: healing, influencing nature or interpreting dreams. Every Walker woman, that is, except Nora.

But then Nora discovers Oliver Huntsman, a boy who went missing from the nearby camp for wayward boys during the worst snowstorm in years. She finds him frozen in the woods with no memory of how he got there. Their connection triggers a series of events that prompts Nora to dig deep and activate her own abilities, magical or otherwise.

With Winterwood, bestselling author Shea Ernshaw returns with a sophomore novel as satisfyingly haunting as her debut, The Wicked Deep. Although readers will be captivated by the chemistry that grows between Nora and Oliver as they work together, the book’s most appealing element is the woods where the novel’s mysteries seem to originate. As she did in The Wicked Deep, Ernshaw has created a setting that is as critical to the story as any of the human characters. She envelopes readers in the dark and ancient magic of winter among the trees.

Readers who loved A Discovery of Witches, Practical Magic, The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane and other books featuring long lineages of magical women, doomed romances and quests to embrace and master supernatural powers will find much to enjoy here. Ernshaw’s deeply atmospheric prose makes Winterwood the perfect read for a cold and gloomy day.

Trending Reviews

Get the Book

Winterwood

Winterwood

By Shea Ernshaw
Simon Pulse
ISBN 9781534439412

Sign Up

Stay on top of new releases: Sign up for our enewsletters to receive reading recommendations in your favorite genres.

Sign Up

Sign up to receive reading recommendations in your favorite genres!