STARRED REVIEW
November 2017

What lies beneath

By Anna Snoekstra

At a time when it seems like there’s a new psychological thriller released every other week—either in book or video format—it is increasingly difficult to find one that stands out in a refreshing way. Anna Snoekstra accomplishes that in her sophomore novel, Little Secrets. This is a must-read for fans of Lisa Gardner and Gilly Macmillan, and is sure to be enjoyed by most mystery lovers.

Share this Article:

At a time when it seems like there’s a new psychological thriller released every other week—either in book or video format—it is increasingly difficult to find one that stands out in a refreshing way. Anna Snoekstra accomplishes that in her sophomore novel, Little Secrets. This is a must-read for fans of Lisa Gardner and Gilly Macmillan, and is sure to be enjoyed by most mystery lovers.

Best friends Rose and Mia know they are destined for bigger things than what the small Australian town of Colmstock has to offer. Once Rose’s journalism career takes off, they can say goodbye to their humdrum shifts serving beer at Eamon’s, the local police hangout, and move into the city. Until then, the two young women have front-row seats to the town’s most compelling happenings, as rehashed by Colmstock’s finest. When a series of fires ends in the death of a 13-year-old boy and suspicious dolls turn up on too many little girls’ doorsteps, the community is thrown into a tailspin. Rose seizes the opportunity to launch her journalism career by publishing an article about the supposed menace threatening the children of Colmstock. As suspicions grow and tempers rise, it becomes apparent that an ugly truth about the people of Colmstock will be revealed.

Like Snoekstra’s debut, Only Daughter, Little Secrets explores the desperation that can live inside of us—and what happens when individuals have opposing but equally desperate desires. Readers will grow to care about the fates of ambitious Rose and nurturing Mia, as well as the policemen working the case. In addition, readers will thirst to uncover who’s responsible for stirring up the community and heinously stealing the life of a child.

Despair makes for shocking choices, and no one makes it to the other side of this mystery unchanged.

 

This article was originally published in the November 2017 issue of BookPage. Download the entire issue for the Kindle or Nook.

Trending Reviews

Get the Book

Little Secrets

Little Secrets

By Anna Snoekstra
Mira
ISBN 9780778331094

Sign Up

Stay on top of new releases: Sign up for our enewsletters to receive reading recommendations in your favorite genres.

Sign Up

Sign up to receive reading recommendations in your favorite genres!