STARRED REVIEW
October 06, 2017

‘Mean Girls’ with a dash of murder

Review by
Natasha has been dead for 13 minutes when a local man rescues her from the freezing river and revives her. When she wakes up in the hospital, she has no memory of how she wound up there, but she knows it couldn’t have been an accident. Natasha is the queen bee at school, but when her most devoted followers begin acting suspicious, she leans on her childhood best friend, Becca, to get to the bottom of things.
Share this Article:

Natasha has been dead for 13 minutes when a local man rescues her from the freezing river and revives her. When she wakes up in the hospital, she has no memory of how she wound up there, but she knows it couldn’t have been an accident. Natasha is the queen bee at school, but when her most devoted followers begin acting suspicious, she leans on her childhood best friend, Becca, to get to the bottom of things.

Bestselling author Sarah Pinborough (Behind Her Eyes) delivers a psychological thriller perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. 13 Minutes takes a haunting look at the dark side of teenage friendships and all the bullying, backstabbing and betrayal that go along with them. The novel’s two main characters, Becca and Natasha, are as vulnerable as they are conniving, and their need for belonging motivates their ploys and manipulations in a fascinating look at the impact high-school politics has on young psyches.

Pinborough’s sharp prose drives the novel through a series of incredible twists and turns. Just when readers think they’ve got it all figured out, she pulls the rug out from under them, reminding them that the right answer isn’t necessarily the obvious one.

Though marketed to young adults, this book will appeal to adults of all ages. Any reader will surely recognize some aspect of Natasha and Becca’s dynamic in their own social circles.

Trending Reviews

Get the Book

Sign Up

Stay on top of new releases: Sign up for our enewsletters to receive reading recommendations in your favorite genres.

Sign Up

Sign up to receive reading recommendations in your favorite genres!