STARRED REVIEW
January 05, 2016

Surreal bedtime bunnies

By Peter McCarty
Review by

Bunny Dreams begins simply enough; bunnies hop, bunnies eat, bunnies cuddle in tunnels to sleep. But when they dream, bunny imaginations take flight, and a surprise awaits little readers—wings and stripes adorn frolicking, ABC-learning bunnies. But the biggest wonder of all is what they see when they wake up under a full bunny moon. Both a charming story and a captivating metaphor, Bunny Dreams will have you taking a second look at your backyard friends.

Share this Article:

Bunny Dreams begins simply enough; bunnies hop, bunnies eat, bunnies cuddle in tunnels to sleep. But when they dream, bunny imaginations take flight, and a surprise awaits little readers—wings and stripes adorn frolicking, ABC-learning bunnies. But the biggest wonder of all is what they see when they wake up under a full bunny moon. Both a charming story and a captivating metaphor, Bunny Dreams will have you taking a second look at your backyard friends.

Peter McCarty’s latest book, while wandering into the realm of fantasy, retains the comfortable, cozy feel he has perfected. Fans of Hondo and Fabian will recognize McCarty’s distinct illustrative style with its realistically soft fur, sweet expressions and subdued colors. Each page is awash in springtime, with a kindly sun, swaying grass, bees, butterflies and a stray chicken. McCarty’s lighthearted text keeps pace with his illustrations, adding another storytelling layer.

Children will love the silliness of bunnies holding pencils and writing their names, and numbered rabbits and alphabet-strewn pages provide plenty of learning opportunities for the littlest readers. Objects of a bygone era (model cars, a rotary phone) add an aura of nostalgia and whimsy for adults.

This unpredictable story comes full circle, with the bunnies once again on solid, grassy ground. However, even as the bunnies’ dreams slip away, remnants of their imaginings remain, lingering in details. Perfect for cold winter nights, Bunny Dreams invites cuddles, giggles and just may spark conversation: What does your bunny dream?

Trending Reviews

Get the Book

Bunny Dreams

Bunny Dreams

By Peter McCarty
Holt
ISBN 9780805096873

Sign Up

Stay on top of new releases: Sign up for our enewsletters to receive reading recommendations in your favorite genres every Tuesday.