STARRED REVIEW
June 2015

Lost hearts make a break for it

By Margo Rabb
Review by
Ever since her father died in a plane crash two years ago, Eva’s ability to write poetry has dried up, and much to her feminist mother’s frustration, she’s begun gobbling up poorly written romance novels. So when real romance comes into her life, in the form of the enigmatic senior Will, Eva’s more than ready for the happiness that comes from mooning looks and stolen kisses.
Share this Article:

BookPage Teen Top Pick, June 2015

Ever since her father died in a plane crash two years ago, Eva’s ability to write poetry has dried up, and much to her feminist mother’s frustration, she’s begun gobbling up poorly written romance novels. So when real romance comes into her life, in the form of the enigmatic senior Will, Eva’s more than ready for the happiness that comes from mooning looks and stolen kisses.

When Will suddenly moves across the country, Eva concocts a plan to follow him. She and her best friend, Annie, enter a teen game show, and with the hesitant approval of Eva’s fearful mother, Annie and Eva travel by bus from New York City to Los Angeles, where the show will be—and where Will now resides.

In between drilling with flash cards and admiring the scenery, Annie and Eva stop at various friends’ and relatives’ houses, where Eva learns about her mostly forgotten Jewish heritage. Both experience Texan pride, meet attractive cowboys and marvel at the oddities for sale at roadside convenience stores. When the travelers finally arrive in LA, Eva can’t wait to be with Will again. But can reality live up to her romance novel-inspired expectations?

Award-winning author Margo Rabb delivers a poignant yet funny road-trip novel about chasing someone else and finding yourself in the process. Kissing in America is perfect for fans of John Green and Gayle Forman, or anyone who seeks the highest quality in young adult literature.

 

RELATED CONTENT: Read our Q&A with Margo Rabb about Kissing in America.

 

Jill Ratzan teaches research rudiments in central New Jersey. She learned most of what she knows about YA lit from her terrific grad students.

This article was originally published in the June 2015 issue of BookPage. Download the entire issue for the Kindle or Nook.

Trending Reviews

Get the Book

Kissing in America

Kissing in America

By Margo Rabb
HarperCollins
ISBN 9780062322371

Sign Up

Stay on top of new releases: Sign up for our enewsletters to receive reading recommendations in your favorite genres every Tuesday.