STARRED REVIEW
April 07, 2015

A family as thick as thieves

By Michelle Zink

Beautiful and rich, 17-year-old Grace Fontaine can charm her way into the midst of any high school clique. But Grace makes friends only to betray them. Her family—Mom, Dad and older brother Parker—comprise a team of con artists, infiltrating the inner circles of the wealthy only to steal their millions. When one job is complete, off they go to a new location, a new mark and a new masquerade.

Share this Article:

Beautiful and rich, 17-year-old Grace Fontaine can charm her way into the midst of any high school clique. But Grace makes friends only to betray them. Her family—Mom, Dad and older brother Parker—comprise a team of con artists, infiltrating the inner circles of the wealthy only to steal their millions. When one job is complete, off they go to a new location, a new mark and a new masquerade.

This time, the Fontaines have arrived in tony Playa Hermanos, a California neighborhood located on a small peninsula. Grace’s role is to befriend Logan Fairchild, teenage son of wealthy Warren Fairchild. Grace, already weary of the endless cons, breaks the Fontaine’s cardinal rule by making real friends at her new school, as well as by falling for the goodhearted Logan. Her family’s downfall is foreshadowed in Grace’s introduction, but there are still surprises in this suspenseful tale of cat and mouse.

Zink, author of The Prophecy of Sisters series, creates an intriguing backstory for Grace and her criminally inclined family. Grace and Parker adopted by the Fontaines in their early adolescence, after each had spent years in foster care. As the story concludes, questions about their past and future remain unresolved. Could there be more adventures to come? A fine blend of teen drama and high-end deception, this novel should appeal to fans of Ally Carter’s Heist Society or Mary Elizabeth Summer’s Trust Me, I’m Lying.

 

Diane Colson works at the Nashville Public Library. She has long been active in the American Library Association's Young Adult Library Association (YALSA), serving on selection committees such as the Morris Award, the Alex Award and the Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults Award.

Trending Reviews

Get the Book

Lies I Told

Lies I Told

By Michelle Zink
HarperTeen
ISBN 9780062327123

Sign Up

Stay on top of new releases: Sign up for our enewsletters to receive reading recommendations in your favorite genres.

Sign Up

Sign up to receive reading recommendations in your favorite genres!