STARRED REVIEW
October 01, 2014

What to read after ‘Me Before You’

Feature by
STARRED REVIEW
October 01, 2014

What to read after ‘Me Before You’

Feature by
October 01, 2014

What to read after ‘Me Before You’

Feature by
Share this Article:

So you’re a fan of Jojo Moyes’ best-selling, tear-jerking 2012 release, Me Before You. This story of the relationship between down-and-out Louisa Clark and the wealthy, quadriplegic she becomes a caregiver for is as touching and warm as it is thought-provoking, making it a perfect fit for book clubs.

Other than tearing through Moyes’ backlist (she’s published more than 10 other books) what’s a Me Before You fan to do next? Not to worry: BookPage has some ideas.

(Warning: minor plot spoilers; after all, this is for those who have already read Me Before You!)


My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

OK, so this one might not be much of a surprise, but no one does the ethical dilemma novel™ better than Picoult, and My Sister’s Keeper is one of her most controversial. If debating right to life/quality of life issues was what turned you on about Me Before You, give this one a whirl. Read it already? Go for the not-yet-adapted-for-film Second Glance.


Being Mortal by Atul Gawande

Speaking of medical ethics . . . best-selling author Gawande may not write novels, but his essays on the challenges of medicine, especially when it comes to drawing the line between treatment and quality of life, certainly make for compelling reading. Anyone who came out of Me Before You with questions about the medical issues involved should pick up this sensitive new collection that will leave you wiser.


Love Water Memory by Jennie Shortridge

One of the most compelling storylines in Me Before You was Lou’s journey of self-discovery—the way she realizes there’s more to who she can be. Shortridge’s fifth novel offers a more extreme version of that theme. It’s the story of Lucie Walker, who awakens in the San Francisco Bay with no idea who she is or how she got there. Worse, she doesn’t recognize the handsome man who shows up claiming to be her fiancé.


The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

If the “odd-couple” dynamic between Louisa and Will was your favorite part of Me Before You, don’t miss The Rosie Project, last year’s word-of-mouth hit that chronicled the romance between a professor who is logical to a fault and a whimsical, fun-loving bartender who comes to him for help finding her biological father. 


Belong to Me by Marisa de los Santos

So you liked Me Before You because it was a tear-jerker? Try Maria de los Santos, especially the poignant Belong to Me, which follows a 30-something who is dying of cancer.

(More obvious runner-ups in the tear-jerker category: The Time-Traveler’s WifeThe Fault in Our Stars.)


Someone Else’s Love Story by Joshilyn Jackson

One of the themes of Me Before You is appreciating the joy to be found in life, no matter what your situation might be. In Jackson’s compassionate sixth novel, Someone Else’s Love Story, her heroine Shandi has to do just that, even as she uncovers some uncomfortable truths about her life and meets the equally wounded, but less resiliant, William.


Me Before You
By Jojo Moyes
Pamela Dorman

ISBN 9780670026609

Review By

Get the Book

Me Before You

Me Before You

By Jojo Moyes
Pamela Dorman
ISBN 9780670026609

Sign Up

Stay on top of new releases: Sign up for our enewsletters to receive reading recommendations in your favorite genres.

Recent Features

Sign Up

Sign up to receive reading recommendations in your favorite genres!